As the principal aim of the Society was to increase and diffuse knowledge concerning Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei, its membership originally consisted of colonial officers, civil servants and scholars. Over the years the membership base had expanded considerably and the Society's membership rolls now include eminent public figures, members of the professional classes, senior public officials particularly diplomats, erudite scholars of Southeast Asian studies and various institutions with an abiding interest in broadening the frontiers of research on Southeast Asian subjects .

Types of Membership

There are principally two classes of memberships, namely Ordinary and Institutional. An individual or institution who is interested to become a member of the Society will make an application using the form provided which must be supported by a proposer and a seconder, both of which must be either an Ordinary or Life Member of the Society. The application shall be sent to the Honorary Secretary who then submits it to the Council for its approval.

Members shall pay their annual subscriptions beginning on the first day of January each year, failure to do which by the thirtieth day of June of that year will result in a suspension of membership. In default of payment for two years, a member shall be deemed to have resigned his membership and should he wish to rejoin, the usual procedure involving a new member will apply.

Honorary Memberships may be conferred on distinguished individuals who have rendered notable service to the Society or to scholarship in the region in which the Society operates. Honorary members are exempted from any subscription and are entitled to receive free of charge the Society's publications although they are ineligible for office and are unable to cast their votes at meetings. The Honorary Members of this Society have included some very eminent public figures and household names in the world of Southeast Asian studies such as the Earl of Cranbrook, Prof. Wang Gungwu, Dr. John Bastin, the late J.M. Gullick, the late Dr. Michael Tweedie and the former Lord President of Malaysia the late Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim.

Subscription Rate

Regions Individual
Malaysia ( 1 ) RM90 RM150
Singapore ( 1 ) S$50 S$80
Brunei ( 1 ) B$50 B$80
UK ( 3 ) £30 £40
European Union €34 €45
Australia ( 2 ) A$60 A$75
USA and Rest of the World ( 4 ) US$50 US$65
Membership is renewable on 1 January annually, with payments to be paid before 31 March.
Surcharge on delivery maybe apply for payments after 31 March. This measure is due to the continued increase in the courier charges.

Please send your remittance accordingly and respectively by mail to the Society or the Society’s Representatives overseas:

1. Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei and the Rest of the World Only: Malaysian Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society, 4B (2nd floor) Jalan Kemuja, Bangsar, 59000 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Tel: +60 11-5410-2148 Email:

2. Australia Only: Dr. Anthony Milner, School of Culture, History & Language, College of Asia and the Pacific, Australian National University, Acton ACT 2601. Email:

3. United Kingdom Only: Prof. Dr. A.J. Stockwell, 36 Sydney Road, Guildford, GU1 3LL, England. Email:

4. North America Only: Dr. Patricia Sloane-White, Department of Anthropology, University of Delaware, 110 John Munroe Hall, Newark, DE 19716 USA. Email:

Please download membership form in pdf format and mail the form and your remittance accordingly and respectively to the representative in your area as listed above.
COPYRIGHT © 2010 Malaysian Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society